Create Beauty Everyday

My goal for 2012 is to create something of beauty everyday. 

Our Heavenly Father first revealed himself in this world as the Creator.  He is the one who created the heavens and the earth and He delighted in His creations.  We were created in the image of God.  In His likeness, with intricacies and attributes that reflect the heart of Who He Is.  As we tune into God and who He designed us to be, He unlocks and instills gifts and passions within us to be used for His glory. 

Consider this verse:   Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.  Psalm 37:4.   I used to think that as we delighted in God and grew closer to Him, He was pleased to hand over to us whatsoever we requested, whatever it was that our little hearts desired.   This “Santa Claus” in the sky, genie in a bottle, view of God was distorted.  He does delight to give us good things and the Word teaches us that every good and perfect gift is from above (James 1:17), but it’s not that our wish is His command.  It’s better than that.

As we delight in God, and grow closer to Him through the study of His word, worship, prayer, obedience, and service, we grow to know Him better.  As we know Him better, we learn His character.  We cannot fully grasp the depth of who He is, or how intense each of His character traits are represented as the essence of who He is, but we can stand in awe of each little element of God we do get a glimpse of. 

In Ephesians 3, Paul prays, “And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. 20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.”

I want to take four main points from this passage today.

  1. God’s love for us is one of the good and perfect gifts that comes from above.  It is for everyone.
  2. This love surpasses knowledge, but the understanding of that love is what is developed in us as we draw closer to Him.  As we grow in a love for God, for His Word, and His people, we grow in an understanding of how much He loves us.  As we gain insight of that love more and more, as we see how immeasurable that love is, we gain a revelation of Who God is.  When we realize on a new and deeper level, “He loves me,” and then the next day, or month, or year, we understand it even more,  our hearts melt and rest in that love with peace, and beauty, and awe.  We are confident in who we are and who God created us to be.
  3. We can be filled with the measure of all fullness of God.  I don’t know what that means.  I do not know how to measure the fullness of God with human measurements.  I do not know what portion of Him we get to be filled with, but what I know is that the more and more I understand that God loves me, the more and more I want to be like Him.  Not in a prideful, powerful, lightning bolt at my command type of feeling, but the deepest heart desire to please Him.  Beyond just pleasing Him, I want to be Him here and now to the people around  me.  I want to be His hands comforting and strengthening those that need to feel His touch, I want to be His voice speaking His words to those that need to hear Him, I want to be His provision to those that need what He wants to give them, I want to be His mercy, His wisdom, His beauty.  My heart’s desire is no longer wrapped up in pleasing me, but in being His hands and feet, His servant, in all that I am.
  4. His power within us can do more than we ask or imagine.  His power is at work within us. Think about this, “the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you”  Romans 8:11.  The power that spoke to a dead and buried Jesus Christ and said, “Arise,” is within us.  The same power that spoke “Let there be light” to a dark and empty space is at work within us.  We can do all things through Christ who gives us strength (Philippians 4:13).  “All things.”  “Immeasurably more than we can ask or imagine.”  “Living in you.”  “According to His power at work within us.”  Understand, His power is at work within you helping you, beyond helping you, it’s empowering you, equipping you, enabling you, to be everything that God needs you to be.  Even more than that, it is placing within you longings. 

When you know God loves you, you know who God created you to be, and you know His power is at work within you, you begin to find within yourself longings, desires of your heart, that line up with God’s Word, that stir within you.  They call out to you.  They pull you or push you to do the things you only once dreamed of doing.  You take the risk, step out in faith, and move.  Some people feel called to go on that mission trip to Africa, go into full-time ministry, to sell all they have and give to the poor, to write that book, or more.  We fear it, all of the “Big Faith” stuff, that we equate with fully surrendering to the calling and the power of God in your life.  But let me stop you right here and explain what I want you to know more than anything from this blog today.  Think of it this way, God created North America.  He created it a beautiful continent with mountains and valleys, rivers and lakes, forests and deserts, plains and prairies.  God created the birds, fish, and other animals, and provided them with the food they needed to sustain their lives.  God created the big–the oceans and the mountains, and God created the small–the ants, blades of grass, and specks of sand.  He fashioned into place every detail, every little thing and every big thing to make this land on which we live.  What if it is the same with our longings?

What if that longing in your heart to dance is just as “Big Faith” importance as the missionary in Africa?  What if your desire to homeschool your children in actually God’s desire for them?  What if your heart’s desire to sing is not about leading worship on a big stage, but more about giving Him praise on a day-to-day basis?  What if God calls you be to be a nurse, or a teacher, a banker, or a lawyer, a farmer, a mother, or a store clerk?  Are those lesser callings than Pastor or missionary?  What if the longing isn’t big, like a career or a ministry?  What if it’s little, like “I want to sit with my mom and drink a cup of coffee” or “I want to spend an afternoon at the museum with my son” or “I want to plant a garden”?  My statement today is if you know God loves you, if you rest in the confidence that you want to please Him because He loves you, if you know you were created for a purpose, if you know God’s power is at work within you, listen to that longing.  Find that longing within you and let it stir.  Let it grow, and pull, and call, and push you.  Let it move you.  Whether it is little or it is big in our wrongful measurement of “faith stuff”, accept it.  Love it.  Go for it.

My heart’s desire right now is to create beauty everyday.  I don’t know what that will be, but it lines up with who God is, He is Creator, He creates beauty, and I believe He has placed this longing in my heart.  I’m going to go forward with it believing I am doing His will.  He will empower me to do more than I can ask or imagine as He moves in my life.   I am excited to see where God takes me.  I expect this to be a year of crafting, and sewing, cleaning and writing, encouraging and studying, playing and planting ~ a year of beauty and smiles, of flowers and family, photography and decorating, fashion and fun. Creating something of beauty everyday is my personal goal for 2012.  May God bless it and use it for His glory.

Find your inner longing.  Believe it is there for a purpose.  It may not be big in definition of what we think God wants His followers to do, but I’m telling you today, be faithful in what you define as little things because it may be that still small longing will lead to something more than you can ask or imagine.   God bless you.  Find your longing and do something with it!  Now, go!!  Love ya!

One thought on “Create Beauty Everyday

Leave a Reply

